Suspected Prostate Cancer

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 5 replies
  • 107 subscribers

Hi, everyone! 

I am new to this and I am having a hard time wrapping my head around the possibility of having prostate cancer... 

I have been informed that I am to see a urologist and have a PSA test done as my prostate is really hard and large (Suspected Prostate Cancer on the referral letter) 

I am 33 years old, have had symptoms relating to prostate cancer for over 2 years, but have been told that it is infection upon infection and have taken antibiotics for years, ciprofloaxasin I think it's called. I was taking them because I have had swollen lymph nodes particularly around the groin, but they tend to flare up in the arm pits and neck.. I have had blood work done and ct scan of lymph nodes as well as a biopsy which revealed nothing. I have been living with extreme back pain and joint pain especially in my legs, I often get random pain that runs down both my legs and I am constantly tired... It is difficult to urinate, I feel like I have to really squeeze it out and I most often have to go again 5 min later. I cannot hold a stool in for long as that causes extreme uncomfort and I struggle to pass it. I haven't had any UTI, I'm clear of any STI or STD, I also struggle to get and maintain an erection... Through all of the tests over the years none of the doctors have examined my prostate nor have I had a PSA. Should I be worried and prepare myself for the probability of cancer or is this just protocol to check? 

Thank you and hope that someone is able to offer some advice! 

Andrew 

• FormerMember
    FormerMember

Hi Andrew

I suspect you may have come to the wrong place about your condition.

Obviously, I could be wrong, but I do think that it's very unlikely that you have prostate cancer.

If you are in the UK, I first find it very strange that you haven't already been referred to a urologist at least a year ago when the antibiotics failed to work.