Coping with mums diagnosis and what to expect

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 17 replies
  • 25 subscribers

hey I’ve never used a forum before but just trying it out. Just over a month ago my mum went into hospital experiencing trouble with her bowels. After numerous tests/scans still no answers to why she was constipated. After further tests we discovered she had pancreatic cancer, which was a stage 4 as had already spread to her liver and her lungs. 

The news was heartbreaking for us all, I am extremely close with my mother. She is a very strong lady which helps us remain strong. But I’m finding it all so up and down at the moment. While we have waited for more tests things have seemed fairly normal as we had to just get on with things while waiting for further tests. My mum had a biopsy on the liver over a week ago, to see how infected it was that kept us hoping that we’d receive news that the liver could be treated.

The results unfortunately came back as too many lesions in the liver and lungs .. Also now the cancer has spread to the bones too. So they’re saying it’s terminal but she can have treatment. This news brought the pain back instantly. we’re awaiting for her to start intense chemo for three months to see if it will work. She is such a strong woman, she’s the strongest!! ? My mums tummy is swollen so much... almost looks pregnant ! And this at the moment is causing her a lot of discomfort.. she is to have a scan to see what is going on in the stomach area and hopefully reduce the swelling. Does anyone know if this is part of the pancreatic cancer ? As we seem to think could be a separate issue. It’s hard to see her in discomfort and a lot more tired than usual. But once again she is being very strong which I admire.