Hi All, newbie here....Bob

• 18 replies
  • 39 subscribers

Hi peeps, 1st cycle in with NHL (Steroids and R-CEOP) treatment rather than R-CHOP (due to preexisting CHD) been weird but what do you do..!! Biggest thing for me has been the loss of weight (I can think of better way of losing nearly 5 stone and walking out of my clothes...) and shatteringly bad fatigue, going from being a reasonably fit and active mid 50s male, to feeling like, well basically an old knackered man has been a shock to the system... anyway that's my story, so far, sending best wishes to everyone going this thru weird, strange and scary journey, you just never know what's in front of you until you start walking the path, Bob

• Welcome from across the pond! So sorry to hear of the diagnosis as well as the fatigue. Yet, chin up, as it will get better. Lamentably, a certain degree of worse may arrive before the better. Nevertheless, better times are indeed coming. Avoiding the Adriamycin is a universal good thing. "Red devil" or "Red Bull" it is called stateside. Rather horrid stuff - as if any of it is truly good. However, the reason for the battle is good to bear in mind, as it is a war. And war is like two pugilists: even the victor is well and truly beaten.

Do let us know how you go.

One cancer (PTCL-NOS) 3 times. Two other cancers: Angioimmunoblastic T-Cell Lymphoma 2 times, and 20q deletion MyeloDysplastic Syndrome) were chemo refractory. All three cancers simultaneously in 2015. Stage IV twice + MDS @ 23% of marrow. 12/22 diagnosed with Squamous Cell Carcinoma. Thus far, 14+ years, 20 drugs, 4 clinical trials, Total Body Irradiation, 1,000+ years of background radiation from scans. 7th remission so far. Haploidentical stem cell transplant, acute > chronic Graft-versus-Host-disease. Currently receiving my 7th GvHD regimen.