Newbie Here... Trying To Stay Positive.

• 10 replies
  • 50 subscribers

Hi,

I'm a newbie to this forum, with a recent Myeloma diagnosis, and it would be great to hear from others in the same position and get some advice.

At the beginning of 2023, I went to my GP with pain at the very top of my neck/base of my skull. At first the GP said I would be sent for a scan but this was changed to physiotherapy. 

As the year progressed, I wasn't feeling right but being a woman of a certain age I just put in down to menopause and carried on. I've always been the one supporting other family members with day-to-day living and health issues and put my own health concerns on the back burner.

However in October last year, I got lower back pain that wouldn't go away after doing some decorating. The neck pain also increased. I was referred to spinal clinic but there was a four week wait before my appointment.

During that time, things got progressively worse... I was having really painful back spasms in the night. Until one night early December 2023, I awoke to the sound of huge cracks and excruciating pain in my neck.

To cut a long story short, the C2 vertebra at the top of my neck had been weakened by plasmacytoma/myeloma, causing fractures.. I was put in a traction halo and vest for 13 weeks in the hope the bone would heal/regrow to avoid an operation. I also started chemotherapy/immunotherapy during an 8 week stay in hospital. The good news is that after 4 cycles of chemotherapy/immunotherapy, I've responded well allowing the bone in my neck to regrow and the halo has been removed.

The Heamotology team told me from the off that I had every reason to be positive and initially that was what I tried to do. All I had the energy to do at first was to concentrate on mobilising in the halo/vest after being bedridden in hospital. The determination to do so kept me positive.