I need help

• 10 replies
  • 75 subscribers

I'm new to this, I got a wife and a kid on the way. I've been letting my melanoma eat me up since I was 19, I'm turning 26 in July. Dark spots have spread, my lymphatic system hurts, I'm tired, I can't eat really anything. Now I have something to live for I'm afraid it might be too late. When will this kill me and how bad am I going to suffer? I really need someone to talk to about this. 

• Hi  and a very warm welcome to the online community which I hope you'll find is both an informative and supportive place to be.

I'm sorry to read that you were diagnosed with melanoma at such a young age and it's natural to be thinking about it more now that you have a child on the way.

I don't know if you're still under a consultant, as more than 5 years have passed since your original diagnosis, but if you are, have you spoken to your SCNS about the dark spots that you're worried about and the fact that some of your lymph nodes hurt?

Community Champion Badge

"Never regret a day in your life, good days give you happiness, bad days give you experience"

• I haven't spoken to anyone about it since I got my diagnostic. I've been waiting quietly to die. I had a change of heart. Just my immediate family know about the diagnostic, and my wife. I also have heart and lung disease so if this doesn't kill me something will. I'm so fucked up right now emotionally. 

• Please get on the phone to your SCNS first thing tomorrow morning so that she can arrange for you to get the dark spots looked at. They may be completely harmless but it's better to be sure.

Do come back and let me know how you get on.

Did you have any follow up treatment after your diagnosis or have you just been on skin check ups?

Community Champion Badge

"Never regret a day in your life, good days give you happiness, bad days give you experience"

• Once I received my diagnosis I never went back.