Just joined

• 12 replies
  • 79 subscribers

Hello. I had a naughty mole removed in June, further margins taken in September but a biopsy a couple weeks later and subsequent scans show that the melanoma in my neck has outrun the surgeon's knife and is busily invading local tissues.

Had the news today that I must steel myself for the chosen immunotherapy treatment plan. I'm 71 which influences choice of treatment. I understand that regarding side effects I face anything from "a walk in the park" to "the road to hell"

I'm a retired vet. Seen off a good number of melanomata from my patients but know enough to understand that I lost more battles than I won. Humans these days stand a much better chance. I'd be interested to hear peoples' experience of immunotherapy and will look at the posts on here.

I am pragmatic and I have a very supportive wife. If I can learn something from folk on here I am equally willing to offer support myself to anyone who wants to talk/dump emotion/distract. I wish each of you luck with your personal battle. Don't give in.

"Siegfreid"

• Hi Siegfried, 

Sorry to hear the news of your melanoma. 

I don't have immunotherapy experience, so can't offer much on that but wanted to give you thumbs up for your attitude. As a medical scientist myself,  I am trying to remember that there are so many  new treatments and developments and I am lucky to be living In the UK, where there are many good doctors and medical research.

I try not to worry for things didn't happen yet  and trying to stay positive, by keeping myself busy with work and hobbies during the waiting times.

• Thank you Elmyra. Totally agree with your approach too. I did 500 skydives and never worried about the parachute opening until I went for the pull. You can only do thorough preparation, be armed with all the relevant knowledge to make decisions and after that   ...it is what it is. Good luck with your situation.