Hello! I'm new here too

• 7 replies
  • 76 subscribers

Hello everyone, 

I thought I'd say hi. I had 'the' telephone call from the hospital last Wednesday so I am totally new to this.

I visited my GP about 5 weeks ago with a funny looking mole. At first she was not too concerned and sent me away saying to monitor the mole and come back if anything changes. BY the time I was explaining this to my husband in the car, she had called to say she had changed her mind. I will never be so thankful to anyone for changing their mind. I went to see the dermatology Dr at out local hospital who took 20 seconds before deciding it needed removal for examination, this as done on 20th July. I have to admit I thought little about it over the next 10 days as I was on holiday.....but on Wednesday 4th the phone call from the wonderful MacMillan nurse confirmed a malignant melanoma. 

I'm now waiting for my referral letter for a second op and sentinel lymph check. 

Finding you all on here is amazing - thank you!

• Hello , thought I’d just pop along to say Hi. My primary melanoma was never found so I haven’t been through the  wide local excisions (WLE) or sentinel lymph node biopsies(SLNB) if you are offered it (that depends on the size of the melanoma. I’ve stollen ’s links for both in case you might find them useful. I am sure she will be along later to say hi with others (she has had both so can give any experience you might want).

I think I missed or you didn’t say whereabouts your melanoma was. They think mine might have been on my leg as it was my pelvic and abdominal lymph nodes that were affected for me when I was diagnosed and 6 years on I’m actually feeling better than I was then. I am so glad yours was found and dealt with.

Take care KT

• Thank you so much for your reply and the helpful links.

My melanoma is on my forearm, a couple of inches below my elbow. Just waiting for the next appointment now....

• Hi Spanielmumma,