Melanoma diet and vitamins

• 6 replies
  • 59 subscribers

Hi All,

Can anyone share diet advice and essential vitamins for melanoma care please?

I would be good to get some basic practical advice to fight this thing both in the short term and long term BlushBlush

I’ve already made the commitment to stay away from unnatural sugar 

Thank you

Kelly

• Hi Kelly,

I did a lot of research into what the best diet is for my mum - she's currently being treated with immunotherapy for stage 4 melanoma. A lot of studies seem to agree that a Mediterranean diet very high in fibre can increase the effectiveness of immunotherapy, plus can potentially slow tumour growth (that was what was seen in mice anyway - not sure how true it is for humans). The studies I read showed that it's good to avoid processed sugars and red meat.

Please, take all of that with a big grain of salt. I'm not a medical professional, but I did look into this on my mum's behalf, so I hope that helps a little.

Best wishes,

Pip x

• Hi  

I didn't change my diet after being diagnosed with melanoma as I felt I ate a reasonably balanced diet already. I was advised to have my GP check my Vitamin D level, to see if I needed to take Vitamin D supplements, but my levels were okay. If you have a look at this leaflet you'll see more about Vitamin D.

Before you change your diet you might be interested in this information from Macmillan on food myths and cancer. They also have this information on making changes to your diet which you might find helpful.

Community Champion Badge

"Never regret a day in your life, good days give you happiness, bad days give you experience"

• Hi Latchbrook & Pip93

Thank you for posting.

i have found comments on diet useful and I guess a Mediterranean way of eating tasty and appealing. Perhaps a visit to that area would make it taste even better!