Immunotherapy side effects

• 15 replies
  • 58 subscribers

Hello, I'm very new to this but needed some advice from anyone who has found themselves in a similar situation. 

I've just finished 12 months of receiving Nivolumab with very little side effects and the day after my very last treatment I started having diarrhea.  After a couple of days in AAU a doctor diagnosed Colitis.  I was sent home with 25 days of steroid to take but 7 weeks later the diarrhea is still ongoing.  I spoke to my care nurse who said it could go on upto 9-12 months.  

Has anyone else suffered with these side effects and how long did you suffer? 

• Yes !! Weeks of it . Awful . They changed the steroid and bingo , immediately better . Maybe ask ? X

• Thanks for that. Have a telephone consultation on Monday so will ask x

• Hi Bella, I'm in the same boat. Had my last pembro in Jan and got diarrhea after that. Treated with solumedrol pack, now managed with Imodium (over the counter). Two loose stools per day and its been 3 months. My colon was beautiful last year per my colonoscopy, but now, it just can't seem to bulk up a stool without the Imodium. I eat homemade sauerkraut every day, and just started probiotics. I really hope the diarrhea resolves. Good luck to you! 

Cindy

Melanoma Stage 4
  • Hi Cindy, thanks for the reply. Sounds like we are very similar. I finished the course of steroids ( Prednisone ) a couple of weeks ago and am managing with loperide just so I can get to work in the morning. 

I'm being referred for a colonoscopy and endoscopy but feel like there is no end to the diarrhea at the moment. It sure does have an effect on quality of life doesn't it?  How are you coping with food? 'm missing variety so much! 

Hope you are feeling well otherwise and you can get back to normality soon.

Bella 

• Hi Bella, 

Good luck with the endoscopies. I don't know what GI would recommend for immune mediated colitis except Infliximab for severe cases.