Coping with symptoms of combined immunotherapy

• 6 replies
  • 51 subscribers

Hi,

I am new to the cancer forum having joined because my dad is undergoing combined immunotherapy. He is a melanoma patient that had spread to the lymph nodes in his neck and we found out 8 weeks ago it had also spread to his lungs. Devastating news, but he has been offered combined immunotherapy to hopefully fight the cancer.

He has received his second dose last week but is struggling with what appear to be common side effects.

Diarrhoea 

Nausea

Lack of appetite

The nausea is the worst and I wondered if anyone has any advice on anti nausea medication? He tried one and it didn’t work. Although the above don’t appear serious in the big scheme of things, we are worried about weight loss and the problems associated with that. My dad is a very fit 68 year old so this has been such a shock to all of us.

To anyone taking the time to read and respond, thank you so much x 

• Hi Katie

My mum is a stage four melanoma patient, receiving combined immunotherapy too. She's due to have her third cycle next week. Like your dad, she has had nausea and diarrhea, pretty much from the start of receiving treatment. She has a little loss of appetite, but hers has actually been getting a lot better recently - her appetite loss was caused by the cancer, so hard to tell if the immunotherapy is affecting it too. She has melanoma literally all over.

She was recommended to take immodium for the tummy problems, which seems to have done the trick this time. She did have a week off treatment to take some steroids to sort out the diarrhea after the first cycle, especially as she had reduced kidney function as a result - all back to normal now. Immodium does make nausea worse though, she's found.