Advise? I'm not ready

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 2 replies
  • 49 subscribers

Hi, I've never done anything like this before but was hoping others in the same position can offer some guidance or even an opinion.

I just turned 51. A couple years ago, I was diagnosed with metastatic melanoma. It spread to my lymph nodes, lung, brain- then to now, my spine. I have undergone multiple rounds of chemo and gamma knife, I'm still fighting. With it in my spine, I am unable to walk and am now undergoing rehabilitation to try and gain some strength back. The doctor told me at this point (2 days ago) to get my affairs in order, predicting I have: days, weeks, or months. I'm exhausted physically and emotionally. I feel so alone. I'm not ready to die.

My family wants me to get a second opinion, but I am afraid that the verdict will come back the same... days, weeks, months. My brothers and relatives- I have no children or wife- don't understand. I am in pain all the time, I'm tired, depressed, and question if it's worth it. I have been a fighter this whole time up until being told to get my affairs in order. I don't know what to do.

My doctors seemed so confident in my treatment before finding it in my spine. Have they given up on me? It sounds like they have thrown in the towel and what they want to do is not for treatment, but rather experimental.

Should I get another opinion? How do I stay strong for them? How do I find the strength for myself? What should I do?

• Hello Pat051, I’m sorry to read about your position, I’m hoping that writing it down has given yourself some clarity about what you want to do, what your next step is.