Hairy cell leukaemia

• 764 replies
  • 8 subscribers
Hi

I was diagnosed with HCL on 6 June 2006. Yes 6th of the 6th of the 6th. ironic eh?

I would really like to meet anyone who has Hairy cell leukaemia (HCL too).

Anyone out there?
  • FormerMember
    FormerMember
    I was diagnosed 11 1/2 years ago and treated with 2-CDA for 7 days. I had a 10 year remission before I learned that it had come back. Part of me thought I'd be lucky enough not to get it back and the other part was waiting for the shoe to drop. I had been checked every 6 months, then once a year up until the Bone Marrow Biopsy confirmed what the blood tests hinted at.
    Last year I had been on anxiety meds which left me extremely tired. I am a teacher and prepared my curriculum for the whole year in advance just in case I went into treatment. This wasn't an easy task to write substitute teacher notes for 180 school days. I was driven to get things done "just in case" it was time for treatment. One year went by and then another six months to the present time. I prepared all of the worksheets, wrote the lesson plans for this year again and I'm still waiting. My co-workers think I'm super organized. I think of it as being prepared for treatment. My ANC number was lowered to 1.1 and then started increasing as high as 1.6 and now I am 1.3 and waiting. I have a spreadsheet to chart my blood test results. I am saving it for "peace of mind" in case there is another relapse after my treatment. I will know how low my blood tests can go before I really feel tired.