Hello

• 4 replies
  • 9 subscribers

Hi everyone, I'm new to this. I hope you're all ok and as well as you can be.

was diagnosed with Squamous Cell Carcinoma Larynx in December 2022, I am 50 years old, I'm disabled in a wheelchair with rare medical conditions.I was due to have a full Laryngectomy operation on 13th January 2023. Unfortunately I had a severe allergic reaction to a drug the gave me during the operation, it caused anaphylactic shock.I had two heart attacks in theatre and a third heart attack in critical care, I was clinically dead for 30 minutes. The surgeon could only fit a tracheostomy, he had to abandon the rest of the surgery, he wasn't able to remove the tumour and my lymph gland in my neck. They were going to turn my life support system off, but my wife insisted they didn't,  I'm so relieved she did, I woke up two days later, it was awful for my family to go through.I am no longer a candidate for surgery. I had 15 sessions of Radiotherapy in April 2023. The cancer is terminal I'm now trying to make the most of every day. 

• Hello Summer475

A warm welcome to the Online Community.

I am sorry to hear of your diagnosis in December 2022 of Larynx cancer. It sounds like you have had a really challenging time with your health. I hope that you and your family are having the support you need from your team. I hope that you are not having too many side effects from the radiotherapy and that it has helped. 

There is a forum on here that you may find helpful and it is specifically for people with an incurable diagnosis. You are very welcome to post in the Larynx group as well, but will put a link to the other forum as it may help in the future to share with others who are in a similar situation. I am sure you will receive a very warm welcome.

Living with incurable cancer forum | Macmillan Online Community