About to be diagnosed

• 45 replies
  • 77 subscribers

I have extreme swallowing problems that they put down to a pre-existing condition. On barium swallow they've found a large filling defect exactly where I've been describing for the last two years.

It's in the right pyriform sinus. Given 14 day referral to ENT. Lots of tears. Bad symptoms in that area - feeling of significant lump when swallowing, burning etc.

Wake up in early hours crying (of trying to). Family very upset and we're assuming the worst, as it's been there so long.

Not sure how I'll cope with being told. Scared. I'm 54, male. Married with a daughter. Been ill with a pre-existing long term condition, which can affect swallowing, for about 10 years.

• Hi  

Welcome to our community but oh so sorry to see you here. Waiting to know what’s likely is so hugely stressful. We here all know how bad that is 

There’s not much point in saying don’t worry because you will but hold onto the fact that most referrals are not cancer and of the ones that are, throat cancer is curable. 
    Dont Google. There is nothing there but alarm and rabbit holes. 
    Ask your GP for something to help you sleep. Get out and about as much as you can and keep busy. There is absolutely nothing you can do about it. 
    Stay here to have a cry and a shout. There is always somebody around

Best of luck and hugs. 

Dani 

Base of tongue cancer. T2N0M0 6 weeks Radiotherapy finished January 2019

I wrote a blog about my cancer. just click on the link below 

https://todaymycoffeetasteslikechristmasincostarica.com 

Macmillan Support Line - 0808 808 00 00, 7 days a week between 8am-8pm

Community Champion badge
  • If there's anyone out that that has survived cancer in this area please reply!

• Hi Jbloggs