Aspiration?

• 4 replies
  • 68 subscribers

Hi all,

I am nearly 12 months out from chemoradiation.

I have been using Level 1 drink thickening for several months because I was coughing after drinking liquids.

Something seemed to change a week or so ago and I started coughing more in the morning (I thought just the usual dry mouth and sticky saliva).

Now, I am coughing for most of the day. My chest feels a bit tight and I have an intermittent wheeze.

I contacted my team and they are going to get me in for a check by my speech and language therapist (making me think they suspect aspiration). I am also due a 3 monthly ENT check and they are hoping to combine these appointments.

I am doing nebuliser and gargling salt water.

I have been reading (proper peer reviewed literature) about mid to late term onset worsening of dysphagia following H&N treatment. It seems that as fibrosis and scarring change, your swallow can deteriorate.

In the meantime, I have gone for Level 3 liquid thickening, just to see if this relieves the symptoms.

I did cough up some tiny spots of blood this morning (which scared me... worrying about mets etc... scan was totally clear in Feb) but I suspect this was from excessive coughing or aspiration damage to the lungs.

I have no other aspiration pneumonia symptoms. No raised temperature or chills.

Anyone else experienced this?

Thanks!

Steve

• Hi  

I hope they get you sorted soon and someone comes on with personal experience here. 
    In the meantime I’ve done a search for you. A good few posts allude to FNAs but you can pick through 

community.macmillan.org.uk/search

Dani 

Base of tongue cancer. T2N0M0 6 weeks Radiotherapy finished January 2019

I wrote a blog about my cancer. just click on the link below 

https://todaymycoffeetasteslikechristmasincostarica.com 

Macmillan Support Line - 0808 808 00 00, 7 days a week between 8am-8pm

Community Champion badge