Cracked tongue

• 31 replies
  • 70 subscribers

Hi everyone! Hope u are all as well as u can be! I'm really new to this, still trying to figure out how to navigate around it lol. Wish I'd knew about this wen I was going thru it all, there's loads of info on here i didn't know about! Dani and Hazel, I've read both ur blogs, so very interesting and informative! 

I finished 35 sessions of radiotherapy 1st Feb, for SNUC, rare cancer in the sinuses, since then I, like so many of u on here, have zero saliva. I also have an extremely cracked tongue? I've been told that's down to having no saliva... 

Does anyone have any good tips or ideas to help with the cracked tongue? 

I'm not sure if it was Dani or Hazel but someone mentioned Xylimelts which I've never heard of and Boots in my town here have one box left so someone has been dispatched to Boots as we speak! I really hope these work for me, I'm very excited! Xo 

• Hi

I'm 7 months post treatment for tonsil cancer and just wanted to let you know that I experimented also with different makes of food. So, I can't eat Aldi Quavers (too chewy) but can do Walkers Quavers-have done for last 4 months. I can't do easily, peanuts but can do cashews. I also just found Jacobs Cracker Crisps and they are great as very light and crispy. I also love cheese on toast and have managed it for last 4 months, the hotter and runnier the cheese the better. I can't do Waitrose jacket potatos, but Tesco are amazing...it's so bizarre !

All the best

Tricia

Piya10
  • Still not happy with potatoes, mashed, jacket, roast but crisps are ok. 
    Anybody else find spuds grainy and uncomfortable to swallow? 

Dani 

Base of tongue cancer. T2N0M0 6 weeks Radiotherapy finished January 2019

I wrote a blog about my cancer. just click on the link below 

https://todaymycoffeetasteslikechristmasincostarica.com 

Macmillan Support Line - 0808 808 00 00, 7 days a week between 8am-8pm

Community Champion badge