Diagnosis/scans speed private/nhs

• 4 replies
  • 48 subscribers

Hi all,

Had a routine screening Endoscopic ultrasound for pancreas which is all clear but they picked up a lump mid oesophagus, not good news. He made a crude drawing of a lump on one side and was deliberately vague.

I had been coughing up a bit of mucus for up to 6 months, thought it was an allergy and GP would fob me off, recently an odd taste/bit of heartburn in mornings and I a tight feeling on chest thinking about it but most of the time I feel symptom less except things feel a bit off.

Obviously paranoid since scan.

Does anyone have any tips/ info on how long it might take from getting the CT scan done to the results being in the hand of a consultant and getting some sort of diagnosis/prognosis? I'm worried they will sit on the scan for a fortnight before processing and sending on, then the team might bump me a few meetings and it will be a month before I hear anything. 

Would going private speed this bit up, getting the CT scan and results sent directly to consultant? (I don't want to interpret them just get things moving.)

Issue is timing couldn't be worse, supposed to be exchanging on a house and applying for new schools for the kids ( eldest for secondary) , not sure what will be going on in my life if it is bad news and not sure if better to stay put for treatment or move soon.

No idea what's going on or what to do!

Arrgggghh!

• Hi