Sleep

• 10 replies
  • 38 subscribers

Hi ,I’m waking up every 10mins it feels like I’m drowning,and then trying to cough with the surgery I had ,for the feeding tube,feel like it’s game over .is this normal with this type of cancer?

• Hi

Can you explain where you are in your journey so people can advise you?

Thanks

Anthony 

• Sorry I’m not very good at this thing.i got diagnosed with oesophageal cancer on the 18th of march,it gradually worsened,it was taken me all day to get creamy soup down ,then water,that’s when I was admitted to hospital where I had to wait over a week for surgery,in that time I lost a lot of weight.on the 13th of April I had a staging laparoscopy with insertion of feeding jejunostomy and cytology ,it a tube in the intestine.operation didn’t seem to go that well ,went back up to ward after,the nurse noticed quite a bit of blood on the bed ,the surgeon come up to the ward but couldn’t stitch it in case it was internal bleeding,so they stemmed it as best they could while I was waiting to go for a ct scan,4hrs later the surgeon comes up and stitches me back up.im out of hospital now ,on nutrition concentrated.im changing my dressing every day,first few days at home was uncomfortable,but nice and quiet,not like the ward I was on.i was just trying to find out if anyone else had the same symptoms ,if waking up most the night choking,I don’t know if it is saliva going down the wrong way,or something to do with the feed,all I know is my eyes are heavy,and I have had enough.reading some of the other forums,and talk of second cancers after ,spreading to lymph glands after op .im trying to keep positive and fight for my families,but it’s getting harder day by day.maybe I just need sleep,or when I start chemotherapy and they shrink a little the choking situation may improve,I don’t really know 

• Yes I think the chemotherapy will definitely improve your symptoms. I'm assuming your operation was a laparoscopy to determine the exte6