Hi, I’m a newbie

• 13 replies
  • 14 subscribers

Hello. Thank you for welcoming me into this group. I have recently been diagnosed with Diffuse Large B Cell Lymphoma. I start chemotherapy on Monday. 

• Hi  and a warm welcome to this corner of the Community although I am sorry to see you joining us. I am Mike and I help out around our various Lymphoma groups. 

I don’t have DLBCL but I was diagnosed way back in 1999 at 43 with a 7 in a million rare, incurable but treatable type of Low-grade non-Hodgkin lymphoma eventually reaching Stage 4a in late 2013 when my NHL was then presenting as a more aggressive type of NHL so although my Lymphoma ‘type’ is different I do appreciate the challenges of this journey rather well.

As your DLBCL is a fast growing type of High-grade non-Hodgkin lymphoma……. the initial aim is to cure….. unlike my type that is incurable.

Have you been told the exact name of the chemo regime you are having?

You will find this link helpful Top Tips for the day of your Chemotherapy as it is a collection of tips as to what helped people during their chemo.

A few thoughts based on my 25 years journey.

There are a number of treatment regimes available and these are very effective......... as for the journey?.... if we line up 10 people on the same treatment for the same NHL we will get 10 different stories...... as the Side Effects of Treatments can be ever so different.

My great CNS initial words were “……Mike you can read all the information available and then start to catastrophise that every side effect that you have read about will happen but the reality is very often rather different….. take each day as it comes, celebrate the good days, endure the not so good day”…… and she was spot on.

I had the more demanding R-EPOCH back in late 2013/2014 and honestly I did well during it all and this was with me having 6 cycles that had me in hospital 6 nights/5 days on my 2 IV pumps 24/7 for over 120hrs each treatment.