Diagnosed today

• 6 replies
  • 7 subscribers

hi all

so today has been abit of a shock…I turned up at a and e on Sunday due to abdo pain. They did blood test which showed high white cell count and advised may be leukaemia.  I then went onto have a GI bleed and poorly and tests today came back as confirmed chronic myeloid leukaemia. 
I can’t really believe it.  I’m a nurse and worrying already about work…what’s my day to day life going to like…my partner I worry most for as his keeps things bottled up and I want to protect him.

they started me on hudroxycarbminde or something today.

im still in hospital because of my stomach symptoms.

just don’t know what’s going to happen next 

• Hi  and welcome to this corner of the Community although I am always sorry to read about your diagnosis, I am Mike and I help out around our various Blood Cancer groups. It is such a shock to be diagnosed with a blood cancer but the more you understand the condition and talk with others the more the noise between your ears will calm down.

I don’t have Chronic Myeloid Leukaemia (CML) but I was diagnosed way back in 1999 with a rare, incurable but treatable type of NHL reaching Stage 4a in late 2013 so although my Blood Cancer ‘type’ is different I do appreciate the journey rather well.

CML is on the rare side, but let’s look for any group members to pick up on your post and get back to you. You can also click on the main ‘CML Group’ title and this will bring up all the group posts. Have a look at the posts and as always you can hit reply to any post and connect in with the wider group conversations.