Triple negative- newbie

• 6 replies
  • 269 subscribers

Hello new friends Heart️ 

I’m a little out of sorts following my diagnosis yesterday, I’m awaiting an MRI & CT scan to find out more information. All I know is that it’s triple negative, I was told by my nurse not to google it, but I was awake at 3am and did. Does it mean I’ve got less of a chance of surviving? My two children, 12 & 14 are my world and I really want to be around. My chemo starts in 6 weeks. I’m a teacher and I can’t think about work, can I just get signed off? 

please be kind, I know you will be as I’ve read your comments Heart

• Hi Autumn lover,

So sorry to hear about your recent diagnosis, it's such a shock when it happens to you as no one ever expects it. I was diagnosed triple negative breast cancer in the summer of 2021 so I can relate to how you're feeling and I know the trap of looking things up on Google (even if everyone says not to) and feeling like you've just been handed a death sentence. So much of what you find on Google is out of date so try to stay away from it as much as possible. Triple negative is often aggressive and there are fewer treatment types available, so typically doctors offer stronger treatments to try to get rid of every last cell which is why most tnbc patients are offered intensive chemo.

In my experience, the beginning part just after diagnosis was the worst because everything was so uncertain and confusing and it was a rollercoaster of emotions attending lots of appointments, scans, having operations (for me at least) and entering a territory of the unknown. I could convince myself that every pain and twitch was cancer spreading in my body too!