Trying to get my head around it all.

• 4 replies
  • 265 subscribers

Hi,

I am new to all this. I was diagnosed with invasive and non invasive HER2 + breast cancer on both sides which will require 3 cycles of Chemo,  3 cycles of targeted treatment followed by double mastectomy then radiation.  I was coping OK but today I'm spiralling a bit.  I was hoping to continue to work to a certain extent as the cycles of treatment are once every 3 weeks. I work in a small/medium office environment but it is an open office. I don't really have space to work from home but work don't really seem to want to put a plan in place,  rather seem to just want to see how it goes! Has anyone managed to work through treatment? I know if my blood count drops I will need to isolate (sorry for the lengthy post!). I'm normally a very level headed individual and usually the problem solver but I can't seem to work this in my head and feel like I'm beginning to panic. Any words of help most appreciated!

• Hi BagM, sorry to hear of your diagnosis. But at the same time glad that you've got yourself to this supportive space.

My story is different from yours but I just wanted to say welcome and leave a few words of support.

Your diagnosis is pretty recent and it seems pretty normal for your emotions to be fluctuating.  I'm usually quite problem solver myself, I have to keep reminding myself that I've not dealt with anything like this before!

I've had a left mastectomy and right lumpectomy and bilateral sentinel lymph node removal 6wks ago.  Physically recovering well but it continues to be an emotional roller coaster. 

Cancer is recognised as a disability and I believe your employer's are legally bound to put supportive strategies in place.  MacMillan have a really useful booklet about employment. You may also find some useful threads on here re working during treatment.

I am self-employed and have decided to take a few months off.