Hello all new here - long diagnosis!!

• 5 replies
  • 485 subscribers

Hello,

I’m new to this forum and hoping we will be really supportive for each other. I was diagnosed with breast cancer in December, but am still in the cycle of tests, scans and results before a full diagnosis. 14 weeks since urgent referral now and still don’t have a full diagnosis or treatment plan…. The time delays are crazy, and the unknown is terrible. Currently waiting for results from latest scan to see once and for all (I hope) if the cancer has spread or not. 
From what I’ve been led to believe once the diagnosis is complete the treatment pathway is really focussed and gets moving quite quickly. Is this what others have experienced? 
I’m not sure I can keep sane for another few months for treatment to start. 
Thanks 

• Hi  , sorry you find yourself here, the club that none of us want to join. I’ve been rattling round here for over 5 years and have found it a great place for support and shared experiences. There have been many here I think with similar long drawn out routes to a treatment plan, I’m sure there will be others popping in with their stories. I was lucky that mine seemed fairly straightforward, although any waiting seemed endless. The worst wait for me was between surgery and radiotherapy, but I ended up glad of the long gap for extra healing time. It’s a ghastly limbo stage you’re at, definitely better once you know what you’re dealing with and can get started with treatment of some sort. I think you just have to somehow get through this tortuous time, knowing that the medics are gathering the necessary information to devise the best possible plan for your particular situation. Sending love and a big virtual hug, HFxx

HappyFeet1 xx
    Don’t be afraid to cry. It will free your mind of sorrowful thoughts. – Hopi