There are many things I expected...but not this!

• 17 replies
  • 471 subscribers

Newbie here. I did not know that MacMillan had an online forum so set up my own blog when I started on this journey. It is weirdly satisfying about writing stuff down. 

Anyway, breast cancer treatment is underway. Week 4 of 24 weeks of chemo/immuno which provides numerous challenges, the least of which is how tired and sick I feel most of the time.  Felt perfectly well before the treatment started so does play with the little brain cells now that I most definitely do not feel perfectly well.  At the moment I am enjoying 2 or maybe 3 good days a week. 

Was told I might feel sick. Tick. Might feel tired. Tick. Might lose my hair. Tick. And a few other ticks on the very long list of side effects. 

But this situation cannot define me. 

Anxiety is an issue, occasionally. More so when I consider how long 24 weeks is...then there is surgery, then radiation therapy, so maybe more than 40 weeks of treatment. Time flies when busy and happy. Time slows to a ponderous pace when not so engaged in every day life.

I live alone. I don't have kids. I have a tiny extended family and very good friends who are being incredibly supportive. But this is down to me (and obviously the NHS!) to beat this disease. 

I need stuff to do. 

Ideas?

• Yes will give it a go as soon as I have the energy x

• Hi ...I am so sorry you are going through such a tough time.  The fatigue is uncontrollable I think. Just go with it. Sleep when you want and your hubby and family will just get used to it. I have never slept this much in my life!!