There are many things I expected...but not this!

• 17 replies
  • 470 subscribers

Newbie here. I did not know that MacMillan had an online forum so set up my own blog when I started on this journey. It is weirdly satisfying about writing stuff down. 

Anyway, breast cancer treatment is underway. Week 4 of 24 weeks of chemo/immuno which provides numerous challenges, the least of which is how tired and sick I feel most of the time.  Felt perfectly well before the treatment started so does play with the little brain cells now that I most definitely do not feel perfectly well.  At the moment I am enjoying 2 or maybe 3 good days a week. 

Was told I might feel sick. Tick. Might feel tired. Tick. Might lose my hair. Tick. And a few other ticks on the very long list of side effects. 

But this situation cannot define me. 

Anxiety is an issue, occasionally. More so when I consider how long 24 weeks is...then there is surgery, then radiation therapy, so maybe more than 40 weeks of treatment. Time flies when busy and happy. Time slows to a ponderous pace when not so engaged in every day life.

I live alone. I don't have kids. I have a tiny extended family and very good friends who are being incredibly supportive. But this is down to me (and obviously the NHS!) to beat this disease. 

I need stuff to do. 

Ideas?

• I could have written all of the above apart from the family part (I have two grown up children). Ideas? Yes, keep doing what you are doing. After the initial shock of being diagnosed with cancer, things are getting back to some kind of normal. New normal, but still normal. We adjust. I did. You sound like a perso who would fight no matter what. I believe this is all we need to do and hope for the best. xx