Low Mood and fear of the cancer recurring

• 6 replies
  • 319 subscribers

Hello All and thanks to Steph for suggesting I log in today. I'm afraid this is going to be a bit of a moan.

I had surgery, a lumpectomy and node clearance back before Christmas. Lumpectomy went well. After one cycle of chemotherapy, I ended up spending a week as an inpatient on very strong IV antibiotics and the healing wound in my armpit stopped healing and started leaking. That went on for months. It's stopped now but because it gave me an open wound, radiotherapy wasn't advised. I had another separate week-long inpatient stay because I got a breast abscess. 

I did have five Herceptin injections, three weeks apart, but they were stopped when a heart ultrasound wasn't conclusive because of the wound dressing and leakage. I am going to go back to my cancer nurse, who is wonderful, and ask her where we go from here, but I just feel tired and scared and worried all the time that the cancer is going to come back. Don't know how to deal with this fear. 

I keep busy, I have a supportive family and friends - although my kids live a long way away - but it's been a hell of a year and now I feel I'm sinking into a prolonged low. Sorry, I know it's only me who can get me out of this but I just wanted to offload a bit.  

• Such a lot of horrible things have happened to you. I’m not surprised that you need to offload x

it sounds like you have a very supportive Cancer nurse. They are so knowledgeable about sources of support. I hope you feel you can tell her how you are feeling so she can suggest the best form of support to help you.

I think the way you are feeling is entirely natural, doesn’t stop it being horrible of course

• Thank you, Hedera. 

• what a scary time for you and how awful to be going through this. I think it's normal to feel how you do right now. this is a horrible business but keep posting. These forums have kept me sane recently x

• Thanks, Emmak. 

• Hi Strand,