Letrozole

• 3 replies
  • 320 subscribers

Hi all, I'm new to this online community.

I have been on Letrozole for nine years, with one year to go.

I have experienced pretty much all of the side effects listed for Letrozole, but have managed okay until about the last three years.

I have been getting increasing pain and stiffness in my joints, particularly in my feet. I thought I had a stress fracture in my foot. X-ray showed no fracture, but did show osteopenia (thinning bones). Subsequent dexa scan showed that I don't have full-blown osteoporosis, but my bone density has decreased significantly since a previous dexa scan twelve years ago.

At no time have I been prescribed or advised to take calcium and vitamin D supplements. My GP recently wrote to my oncologist who replied that I should be taking Adcal, which has now been prescribed.

My question is this, was the failure to prescribe Adcal nine years ago a case of negligence? I am now in constant chronic pain and my mobility and functioning are severely reduced. Should I seek legal advice regarding this oversight?

Thanks in advance ad sorry for the long message!

• Dear JB firstly congratulations for taking Letrazole for 9 years I only managed 3.5 however, my oncologist respected me for getting that far so you have done extremely well as regards your other medication. I feel you have been let down.

if you feel you would like to take it further, why not it will probably help others as well as yourself. Wishing you well go forward

Tili x

• The way treatment paths work has changed a lot in 9 years. You must be feeling very angry though to consider legal advice. That’s not an easy path and you may find it makes you more angry and distressed. There might also be all sorts of other reasons why you are in pain. You don’t say how old you are, I’m 76 and my general mobility and joint aching was increasing long before I got breast cancer.