Hi everyone

• 1 reply
  • 53 subscribers

Hi everyone

I am new to this so please bear with me.

My beautiful, kind, caring, amazing 52 year old sister was diagnosed with a stage 3 Anaplastic Astrocytoma in August 2020. There are no words to describe the shock, terror and other emotions that hit our family, and continue to do so. As the eldest of three children, a Social Worker and a Counsellor, I was quick to be solution focused and support her and her husband, attending appointments with the Consultant surgeons and Oncologists at Addenbrookes, writing letters, researching, raising money for Brain Tumour Research, etc.  absolutely anything they need. Every 3 months she has an MRI to see if the tumour has grown or spread and this is torture. My sisters prognosis is unknown, we do not know how many years she has left, and what the future will look like for her, her husband and three children. We are all thinking positively and live life to the maximum but I am realistic and know that as this is an aggressive tumour and it's not going away. 

What do I need to prepare for is a big question for me? My whole family rely on me to have the answers, take control and make things better. How do people deal with all the feelings of helplessness, guilt, sadness and utter despair when watching someone they love suffer?

• Hi Scorpion04

a warm welcome to the community. So sorry to hear about your sister's diagnosis.  My husband was diagnosed with a stage 4 Glioblastoma in Sept 2020 so I get it. Nothing, absolutely nothing, prepares you for the shock and emotions surrounding the diagnosis. 

Like you I feel as though I need to be strong for my family only in this case its my kids, now aged 22 and 24. Until recently we've been on that 3 monthly rollercoaster but at the last appointment the oncologist agreed to a 6 month break between appointments and MRIs.