Glioblastoma

• 3 replies
  • 53 subscribers

Hi

whoa don’t know where to start, 2 weeks ago yesterday I took a seizure in which I do not remember anything for a few hours prior to this till a few days later. 
anyway I got took to hospital, given mri, ct and X-ray. Told I had a brain tumour a week past Friday, surgery last Friday and told yesterday it was a giloblastoma. I am a 46 year old teacher with 3 kids (twin boys 22 and daughter who just turned 24) oppps just realised I am 47 today, what a birthday. 

I am due to start radiotherapthy and chemo in 3 weeks time as waiting on scar healing and getting mould fitted etc and also willing to join any trials and do whatever it takes to help me and my family. 

I am being positive and trying to remain strong for my family and for my treatment. It’s hard, it’s all the questions, why me? Etc 

I am having headaches but my pain killers don’t seem to help, any suggestions, I am drinking loads and loads of water and tea and trying to eat healthy. It helps to talk and be positive but headaches and sick feeling can get bad that it wakes me up, I get roughly 4-6 hours sleep each night.

thanks in Ada Vance for any help Hugging

• Hi JeanaW

So sorry to hear what you are going through. It is such a shock to be told you have a brain tumour of any sort. My husband has a glioblastoma and has had the same treatment you describe. He is 69 however, and although he tolerated the treatment and the craniotomy really well, he did have side effects from the chemotherapy. Everyone is very different, though, he wasn't sick or lose any hair.

About 3 weeks after the radiotherapy finished he became very fatigued, but the oncologist explained that would happen.