Grade 4 Brain Tumour

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 3 replies
  • 54 subscribers

Hi everyone! This is my first time using this site and to be honest I never thought I would have to!! 
Back at the beginning of December, I had a couple seizures which they thought was a TIA. After investigations I was diagnosed with a grade 1 brain tumour and told I would need an operation in the near future. Until such a time I was advised to carry on with life as normal. Which I did! I was very active and I would run around 15K/week and walk. I loved walking 20 miles across Dartmoor. 
In February 2021 all this changed. I very quickly lost my ability to speak and I lost control of the left side of my body (a bit of a hardship as I’m left handed). At this point I was told my tumour had changed and I was diagnosed with a grade 4 brain cancer. I had an operation to remove most of it on 22 February 2021, followed by a 6 week course of radiotherapy and I was given a trial drug because my tumour was tested and came back as unmethylated. 
I had my MRI scan following this and was given the results last Monday. Despite the original tumour shrinking, I now have another one on the opposite side of my brain. So I am waiting to go onto Chemo Temozolomide. Despite the fact I was told that this was not the one that worked so well with unmethylated tumours hence the reason I was given the trial drug in the first place. 
I am devastated. Coming to terms with this when I was such a fit and active person. Trying to explain it to my family and support my partner trough this  (I’m a 55 year old woman with 2 sons and 2 grandsons with both my parents still alive!) has been heartbreaking. I still feel so well too!! 
I don’t know how long I’ve got left, I keep thinking will I make to Christmas? I’ve got a holiday booked for August and I’m supposed to be going up to see my son and 2 grandsons in early July; however I don’t know how I’ll feel as I will have started my chemo by then. Cancer is so cruel!!