Shock diagnosis

• 26 replies
  • 179 subscribers

Hi everyone. 

Firstly I've never joined a group so I'm very new to this.

I went for a Polyp removal today, benine Polyps,  only to be told I was in the wrong department and I needed to see a doctor. After a couple of cancellations to my procedure and not being told beforehand that I needed to see a doctor when the penny dropped, you see a doc before your op so they can tell you what's going on, I just hoped I was wrong.  Unfortunately not.  I was told I had bowel cancer and my world fell apart.  My first thought was how am I going to tell this news to my 14 year old son. I have 5 children , 35, 33, 32, 29 and 14. It's late now and I only just found this group.  I've managed to tell all my children but  not my 14 year old. I know there's others worse off than me so I don't know exactly what I'm expecting to hear back,  just wanted to tell someone other than my children I suppose. 

Corporal J

• Hi,

I’ve just came across your post I’m so sorry you are in this situation. You have every right to feel the way you do it’s upsetting. I always think when you here the word surgery when cancer is involved it’s really a good thing once you get over the shock. Surgery means they will take it out. You sound like you will have loads of support but sometimes it’s good to speak to people who are going through similar. 

Sending you a virtual hug xx

Cath

• Thank you so much for  your kind and quick response. 

• Hi, 

Your welcome it’s a scary world being diagnosed with cancer. But you will find the strength from somewhere I know I have xx

Cath

• Hi Corporal J

Im sorry that you have had this experience in your diagnosis. I had lots of tests before my appointment which I was then told the treatment plan. The waiting and testing is the worst part  this is such a good place to talk. Please stay off Google I scared myself silly with it 

Have you been told what the treatment plan is?