Dad has incurable cancer

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 5 replies
  • 19 subscribers

Hi everyone 

My dad went through a major operation in November 2019 called a whipples procedure for bile duct cancer. Skip to now may 2020 we have been told the cancer is back it is in his liver and bottom of spine. He has started chemo tablets at home, now my worry is the incurable part? Can anyone advise me on what this means, does this mean the worst or will chemo help?

Many thanks 

• Hello Glitterbug90.

I am sorry you find yourself here, this silent and rare cancer is vile. I am not an expert although I have read everything I can find on it, I can only share what is happening with my beloved husband, he was diagnosed to late for any surgery, was told he secondaries on liver and some swelling in lymph nodes. They said he had 6 months to live but chemo could extend his time. He had 3 chemo and then he had 5 weeks off  due to risks of covid. He was violently sick each time and then just tiredness. 

He went back to chemo on Tuesday and is now very ill in hospital with sepsis and may not make it and my heart is broken, he is 61.I know at some pint I am going to lose him anyway but the suffocating pain is there always. If he gets through this, it is highly unlikely that he will be given anymore chemo

You need to know that every single person has a very different reaction to chemo. Some people are never sick,bht have other symptoms that he didn't.