Newly Diagnosed-treatment not started yet

• 3 replies
  • 49 subscribers

Wow, I was so happy to see this forum.

My story starts in Nov 2020 when I felt a hard lump in my right groin. Within 2 wks I was in the doctor's office. He said to wait a month to see if it clears on it's on. Absolutely NO symptoms whatsoever.

In January 2021 I returned to his office and he ordered a surgical consult to biopsy and remove the lump.

Early March 2021 I had the biopsy and removal of the lump. Within the week I had the diagnosis of Malignant squamous cell carcinoma, unknown primary.

I am a retired nurse so knowing that the cancer was in the lymph nodes I knew it was serious but what got me even more worried was why we couldn't find the primary.

I went to GYN (even though I had already had my annual pap and exam), went to urologist to check my bladder, had already been to a dermatologist who said I had no lesions on my skin whatsoever. It was so frustrating.  I met with the oncologist who was more worried about speech to text documenting than he was about a newly diagnosed patient with no idea of where the primary is.

No one, in all of those doctor's appointment checked my rectally. Not my PCP, nor any consultant.

My surgeon finally towards the end of March did a rectal exam and saw a very small ulceration that was suspicious in the anal canal. Voila-2 days later we had the primary. If it had not been for the surgeon, who argued with my surgeon about even doing the biopsy, I still wouldn't know the primary.

Anyway, I know my treatment will be chemo with radiation (5FU and Mitomycin C). I've fired the oncologist and am awaiting a meeting with my new oncologist.

Does it always take this long to get started with treatment? It's been 5 mos since I first noticed the lump.

Thanks for letting me join and vent. Any words of wisdom are greatly appreciated