New diagnosis

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 3 replies
  • 37 subscribers

Hi, I’m new to all this, diagnosis 2 weeks ago. Hospital tomorrow for eua and hopefully some kind of plan going forward. Am feeling very lonely and really embarrassed. What I read on line doesn’t help at all x

• Hi ,

Firstly I’d like to welcome you to the online community although I’m so sorry you find yourself here. 

The first bit of advice I’d like to give you is try not to google, a lot of the information there is outdated & you’re likely to frighten yourself to death!! 

Please don’t feel embarrassed, although I wouldn’t be telling the truth if I didn’t say I also felt that way in the beginning. Hopefully your perception on this will change as time goes on. Although anal cancer is quite rare unfortunately case numbers are on the rise. Because it is still a lesser talked about cancer it’s good that you’ve found us & you’ll find many of us on here at different stages of our journeys, if you click on my username it’ll take you to my profile & you can read a little of my story there. I am 2 years out of treatment tomorrow & disease free to date. 

We’re a friendly open minded bunch here so please if you have any questions don’t hesitate to ask, don’t worry that it sounds embarrassing or too personal I can guarantee we’ve all asked that same question at some point. 

I hope your EUA goes well tomorrow & keep posting, you’re not alone any more. 

Nicola 

• FormerMember
    FormerMember in reply to Nikki65

Hi Nicola