Stage 1 cancer - HPV

• 5 replies
  • 34 subscribers

Hi, 

I'm very new to this and this group and was very apprehensive about writing in here. 

But I recently found out that I had stage 1 cancer - HPV after a biopsy in August. After my follow up appointment I was told they removed it and that I didn't need to worry about it. I was then given an appointment for 6 months time.

I have so many questions but also left confused that I didn't need any further treatment. Is it normal to not need treatment and for it to be removed just through the surgery?

My other concern is that, because of the location of the cancer how will I know if it spreads as it's not something I can see myself. My next appointment is for another physical examination, but what if there's something deeper and internal that they cant feel? 

I am also a few months post surgery and I still have a little bit of bleeding when going to the toilet and I have noticed a small lump or piece of skin externally that I didn't have before. I can't work out if this is another lump or a skin tag/scar tissue.

All information on HPV/anal cancer is hugely appreciated. 

Thank you 

• Hi  ,

Fistly welcome to the Macmillan online community although I’m sorry that you’ve had the need to find us.