retifanlimab immunotherapy trial? Has anyone any experience of this

• 9 replies
  • 36 subscribers

Hi there 

I was just wondering if anyone has heard or an immunotherapy trial which is 2 chemos plus this immunotherapy drug?

anal cancer which has spread…drug is Retifanlimab

anyone who has an info on it or has had it themselves. Please get in touch if you have.

interested in hearing about the side effects results and anything really for a family member

El 

• Hello El

I'm afraid I don't remember seeing Retifanlimab mentioned on here, but that isn't to say that someone might have had it.  What I do know is that there is a trial which ends this month where patients that had anal cancer (and other types of cancer) were treated with a placebo or Retifanlimab alongside carboplatin/paclitaxel.  It may be that during the trial (which involves regular scans) they have found that the Retifanlimab is effective and now offer it as standard to patients with spread.

I have no experience of the side effects, there is a list but it may well be that your Mum will not suffer any of them or just one or two.  The team treating her will certainly keep on top of it with regular checks and additional medication if needed.

I know your Mum (and you) must be apprehensive, I do hope her treatment goes well.

Irene xx

• Hi there Irene 

thanks for your message. Yes the trial you are talking about is the one which she is on. I’m fairly sure she only just got on it because it’s no longer being offered. Had her first day of it today and we have seen that it’s now been approved in the US. So I’m guessing that’s pretty pretty promising. Has been going a number of years in the UK.

From what she’s said they monitor you fairly closely with lots of blood tests and scans etc. so will see how she gets on.

we have heard some good things about trials for colorectal cancer so hoping it will help the situation somewhat