Recurrence & APR surgery

• 53 replies
  • 45 subscribers

Hello!

New to the site. I'm looking for some support and info. I'm 45 years old. I was diagnosed with stage 3 anal cancer and underwent 6-weeks of radiation and chemo in 2021. It worked and I have been in remission for 15-months. I saw my surgical oncologist for my regular check-up and she felt a small mass - same site as the original tumor. I have no symptoms, no blood. In fact, I feel healthy and stronger than I have in months. Had a PET scan yesterday. Findings show that there is a neoplasm probably a recurrence of original disease. Having a biopsy on Monday. Gearing up for round 2!  Has anyone had the APR after chemo/radiation? Please share your story. I have read some bleak studies on recurrence after the APR surgery that is causing a lot of anxiety. Thanks so much!

• Hi Hopie,

I have no personal experience to offer you, just coming in with support and sympathy. I'm so glad that, since you have another chapter to write about this miserable situation, that you're going into feeling great. I think that's so huge in how we get through it all.

I hope a few folks step forward with personal stories about it. Dr. Google is a helpful but hugely problematic source of information, as we all know. I can't resist an occasional Google but try not to let myself spiral down the rabbit hole.

This site has been such a wonderful help for me. I check it every day. If you get tempted to Google, come read stories here instead!

Hugs

Suz

• Thank you for your support and kind words! I'm scared and lonely so I will be sure to take your advice and check-in regularly as I go through this again. Take Care!

• Hi there ,

Firstly I’d like to welcome you to the Macmillan online community although I’m so sorry you’ve had the need to find us & to hear of your possible recurrence.