Anal SCC AIN3

• 16 replies
  • 40 subscribers

Hello my lovelies, I was diagnosed with anal SCC on 1 March after a lesion was removed from the perianal area,  had my ct & mri and met a different consultant after the mdt meeting on 18 March.  The great news was they got clear margins and the scans were clear.   Now, this was the unexpected bit, my new consultant is now taking me down the HPV AIN3 route and I'm waiting now for appointments for a high resolution anoscopy under GA,  colonoscopy and investigations from gynea.  I was wondering if anyone has a similar experience or any advice or can help me to understand. 

• Hi ,

I'm no expert but like many of us here I’ve learned a quite a bit along the way. I do know that a high proportion of anal cancers are HPV related so maybe when you had your surgery your lesion tested positive for HPV & they’re just being cautious with the extra tests? Your anal cancer must have been like mine & pretty early stages as that’s the only way they’ll consider surgery as first line treatment (assuming you’re in the UK). Did your new consultant give any explanation at all as to why he was taking this route? Sorry I couldn’t be of more help. 

Nicola 

• Hi Nicola, thank you for your reply, I appreciate it very much and yes, I'm in the UK.  The lesion was suspected SCC and I was booked in for a biopsy but my surgeon decided it best to take it all which came back as confirmed SCC.  My new consultant said about the link to HPV and to have these extra procedures.  Tbh, it's all been a whirlwind and although I've heard of HPV cause my son recently had his inoculations against it, I'm having to learn very quickly what it's all about.  Still healing (was left with a 5cm crater) 5 weeks post op but now it's granulated it's doing well.  May I ask how your doing? Sue x