Mantle cell lymphoma and stem cell harvesting, anyone else?

• 8 replies
  • 13 subscribers

Hello

I have mantle cell lymphoma and have started with my treatment which is R chop and cytarabine chemotherapy and stem cell harvesting , r chop first which I have had the first one and cytarabine next. They are going to alternate them and I get 6 lots. I have been told I will need a year off work.

I was wondering if anyone else has had this treatment and if so how did it go for you?

Thanks in anticipation

Dave

• Hi Dave,

Welcome to this corner of the forum although I am very sorry for the reason you had to post.

I was treated for a different blood cancer (myeloma), but I have some experience with stem cell transplants (I’ve had an auto (using my own cells) and an allo (using a donor’s cells)). I am assuming from your post that you are having an auto? The way I describe it to others is “tough but doable”. It is a major procedure so it’s worth getting yourself prepared for it in that mindset, but the medical teams are getting better at them all the time, and they know what they’re doing such that you’ll get the best possible care. In terms of time off work, I had just under 4 months off for my auto - a few weeks pre-transplant as you’re doing the preparation, and about 3 months after. Everyone is different, but it’s good to plan for the first 100 days post-transplant being the toughest as you build up the lost strength and as your new immune system takes hold. In terms of the induction treatment leading up to SCT, I actually continued to work all the way through, although flexibly. I think I was quite lucky though and some induction treatments can be harsher than others, so it might be best for someone who is doing your regime to give you some insight on that.