Going back to work

• 1 reply
  • 11 subscribers

I am 9 months on from my SCT and feeling good. I've had  some of my childhood vaccinations and I've recently joined a gym and plan on swimming once a week to build up my strength. I am very anxious about going back to work. I have a meeting with occupational health soon. I am a primary school teacher and concerned about  my ability to cope as I still get fatigued very easily and I don't want to pick up infections from children. Teaching is very demanding and I wonder if I'll ever be ready to go back. I feel like a fraud because I look healthy and in remission but still get fatigued if I go for a long walk or have a busy day.. I often think about doing something else now instead. Can anyone relate and offer advise?

I have also started my maintenance chemo lenalidomide and coping with skin rashes. It's taking time for my body to adjust to this new pill.

• Hi  I see you have posted the basic sane post in a number of the groups you are in.

It is a big challenge especially in light of working in a primary school. We all know that primary schools are a greenhouse that grows infections.

You will have seen that I was in Further Education for 20 years I was fortunate to be in the position to take my pension at 55…. My 2 Allo SCTs were 3 then 4 years after retied so I did not have the decisions that you are striving with at the moment.

I retired when I did as my Lymphoma of 12 years was slowly progressing. I was in a full time table as well as management responsibilities so it’s was a stressful environment…… and stress is not good for my type of Lymphoma so pulled the plug.

I see you mentioned medical retirement…… I tried this route but my assessment at the time said I did not meet the criteria as my type of Lymphoma ‘was not on the list!!!!’…… crazy when I reflect back that a few years later I was fighting for my life……