Recovery stories

• 8 replies
  • 13 subscribers

Hi, this is my first time posting. My husband was diagnosed with Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia May 2020 and had a stem cell transplant October 2020. His initial recovery from that was going well until he needed to get a DLI (his donor was his sibling). Unfortunately they made a huge mistake at the hospital when giving this transfusion, they pulled the wrong bag and he got a larger quantity than required. This caused side effects with Graft V Host issues which setback his recovery somewhat. He lost a lot of muscle mass through the treatments he received and has also been left with nerve damage in his feet from his second round of chemo.

This journey has been a long and tricky one. I can't see an end to it all at the moment. His pain is constant and debilitating, he struggles to walk very far or for very long and now has joint pain everywhere. He's at the point he is off steroids and producing his own but the steroid was keeping the joint pain under control. I wondered if anyone has a similar recovery story. If there is anything that helped or ways to overcome or adapt. We are both finding it tough right now, physically and emotionally.

• Hi  and a warm welcome to this corner of the Community although I am always sorry to see folks joining us. I am Mike and I help out around our various blood cancer groups.

I don’t have ALL but was diagnosed in 1999 with a rare, incurable but treatable type of NHL (CTCL) Stage 4a so although my blood cancer ‘type’ is different I know this journey rather well.

Your husbands SCT story rings so many bells with me as I have had two Allo (donor) SCTs with cells from my brother.

The first was June 2014 that lasted until Dec 2014 so I went back for a second in Oct 2015 with remission achieved in Sep 2016. The first long term remission in 17 years as until then I was only ever in remission 6-9 months.

It’s a very long story so to save time hit my community name  and see my profile.