Husband had BMT

• 11 replies
  • 11 subscribers

Hi, I’m new to this.  My husband was diagnosed earlier this year with AML with chemo he did get into remission but BMT was the best option for prolonged remission so he underwent this in Sept with a 10/10 unrelated donor   I’m his carer and struggle with the enormity of everything, I dread every blood test he does (2 per week), can’t see how we will ever have some “normality” back in our lives.  Absolutely no one I know has had a transplant so I’ve no one to talk to,  People I thought were friends and would “be there” haven’t come thru unfortunately, I know no one wants the cancer baggage.

I suppose I’m looking for reassurances (I know no one can give me them) but I’m struggling.  Can’t face Xmas, struggling with the whole “isolating” not seeing anyone/going anywhere.  Just wish this nightmare would end. 

• Hi again and well done navigating across to this corner of the community.

As I said I have had two Allo (donor) SCTs June 2014 then Oct 2015 and remission eventually achieved in Sep 2016 so understand this journey rather well.

He is only is only 2-3 months out from his SCT so this is very early days in the process so regular bloods, clinic appointments, reviews are normal but this will start to stretch out once he hits about day +100 when they will reduce his immunosuppressants and let his new immune system find their legs.

My SCT unit was in Glasgow and we live in Inverness so we were doing a weekly 9hr round trip to Glasgow for the first few months - during winter for my second Allo SCT

My head SCT Consultant told me that going through a SCT was like doing a boxing match and a marathon every day I was in hospital and this was done without any training

She also gave me a basic scale for classifying where I was on the recover journey.

50% = when in the hospital going through the transplant process.