Stem Cell Transplant For ALL

• 8 replies
  • 11 subscribers

Hi Slight smile

I'm new to this part of the forum! Basically I was diagnosed with B-cell ALL in July 2020 and have been undergoing chemotherapy since. My original treatment plan was to receive chemotherapy only following the UKALL14 protocol, however 2 weeks into my maintenance chemotherapy my latest biopsy came back showing my MRD was 0.1%. Unfortunately this is apparently enough to warrant a change in treatment plan :( 

I am now being put onto 4 months of immunotherapy Blinatumomab followed by a Stem Cell Transplant. I'm not too worried about the immunotherapy but I am a little scared of the SCT. I don't do well as an inpatient and I've done as well as can be expected through chemotherapy so I'm a little worried I'm going to be stuck in hospital (possibly with no visitors) feeling extremely poorly. I'm also worried about recovery afterwards. I'm not even fully sure about the process. 

So in short just wondering if anyone has any stories about their SCT they would be willing to share (good or bad), any tips on how to deal with the long stay in hospital and any recovery tips/stories????

Hope everyone is enjoying summer!

• Hi and welcome across to this corner of the community.

Going down a SCT route is all about long term benefits outweighing the short term challenges, yes it can be a bind being in a SCT unit (I was in for about 28 days) but remember it is temporary and will pass. 

Everyones story will be different and you will find extremes but on the whole most folks will say the process was far less daunting and challenging then they were first told it would be and to expect.