Hello, I am new here.

• 4 replies
  • 38 subscribers

Hi al

I am new here just having been diagnosed on the 8th November 2023 with Adenocarcinoma of the oesophagus.  My head is a bit of a spinning top at the moment. I am not sure about much at the moment, but I have been told I am not a candidate for surgery. I have to go for a CT scan I don't know if that is to see if the cancer has spread I don't know. I know chemo and radiotherapy was mentioned, but If they had taken away the cancer via an EMR I had done two weeks previously,  if I would still need this treatment or not. I have so many questions and no answers at the moment.

As anyone else here had this before?

Scrappydo 

• Hi, I just wanted to say, unfortunately I've no experience with the cancer you question. Same with any really, as I am also new to the group. 

9 days ago, I was diagnosed with anaplastic large cell lymphoma. This was a long 12 month drawn out diagnosis, due to the rarity of the lymphoma. 6 days ago I started chemo, and was released from hospital after a 6 week stay, with severe complications. 

First off, try not to panic. Chase up your medical team. Be open and honest. These things take time. There's always scans involved. This will become the norm to check progress and to aid diagnosis. Again, all Normal. 

I'm having my own concerns with an upset stomach. Feeling very tired and sore from staples. Then I'm less than 1 week into my first dose of chemo.  Does it get easier.  My glands under my jaw feel massive.  It's where the chemo taste seems to come from. My heart rate is always very fast? I'm really just not feeling well already. My wound in my groin is also very painful 

I really hold my head high, to anyone having to fight this.  Hands down the hardest battle to date.  

Any ways.  Save me going on.  I wish everyone the best of luck.  And thank you. 

• Hi  and a very warm welcome to the online community which I hope you'll find is both an informative and supportive place to be.