Newly diagnosed but incurable.

• 44 replies
  • 48 subscribers

Thank you so much for accepting me. On 16th December I was diagnosed with cancer. After all the tests, I found out on Friday just gone that the only treatment they can offer me is radiotherapy to postpone the inevitable. They said I may have months or maybe two years. It's a squamous cell cancer, under my chin and spreading up the nerve to my eye. The whole side of my face is numb and I'm currently in hospital with the eye sewn shut and antibiotic drops to help it heal, hopefully. I apologise for any wrong buttons pressed as I'm struggling to see with one eye and I'm not good with technology anyway. How does everyone cope with this sort of news? How do I stay strong for my family? It all feels unreal. 

• Yes. After all the scans and biopsies they had the MDT meeting and this was what came of it. I still feel very much in the dark. I'll make a list of things to ask on Friday. Meanwhile, it's helping me to cope, finding people who understand here. Thank You. 
  • No need for thank you.

We where all new once, so know how it fills, like you are the only one, you come here, and then realize you are not

No one knows how we fill or what is going threw our scrambled brains, my hubby never really and at times i only told him a little bit, as we try to protect.

Though people here really do know what it is like, that is why you can say anything

because we have all been there, and at  times have to again.

It does fill like a weight has been lifted, when you can speak freely here, that's  ' why we say.

Scream, shout, rant, cry what ever, we have all done it, though pleased you found us, though wish it could have been elsewhere.