Newly diagnosed but incurable.

• 44 replies
  • 48 subscribers

Thank you so much for accepting me. On 16th December I was diagnosed with cancer. After all the tests, I found out on Friday just gone that the only treatment they can offer me is radiotherapy to postpone the inevitable. They said I may have months or maybe two years. It's a squamous cell cancer, under my chin and spreading up the nerve to my eye. The whole side of my face is numb and I'm currently in hospital with the eye sewn shut and antibiotic drops to help it heal, hopefully. I apologise for any wrong buttons pressed as I'm struggling to see with one eye and I'm not good with technology anyway. How does everyone cope with this sort of news? How do I stay strong for my family? It all feels unreal. 

• I hope the radiology people are more communicative. I feel in a state of limbo just now. It does help so much to hear other experiences. I don't feel so alone, although I do wish you were all fit and well

• You are right. I need a notebook to write things down. I'll ask my husband to bring one in tomorrow. Thanks. Xxx

• There is so much going threw your mind, and i come out, and say to daughter should have asked this should have asked that, i now right them down, We learn as we go along.

• Hello AnnaMary.

I asked how long and was told eight months to a year.

That was six years ago.His maths ability is worse than mine.!

Plenty on here like me.

Once your face is feeling better your mind will as well.

I guarantee you will become used to how things are. It just happens, your body goes into ' I can handle this' mode. We all have, why not you.

Best wishes.

• I hope to be as strong as everyone here. 

• We all start of this journey the same, and how we learn to cope is different for every one, i try and carry on as normal, as i, can b, and when i fill like S..t i take it easy.

You will find your own way of dealing with the situation, and what is right for you,