Newly diagnosed but incurable.

• 44 replies
  • 48 subscribers

Thank you so much for accepting me. On 16th December I was diagnosed with cancer. After all the tests, I found out on Friday just gone that the only treatment they can offer me is radiotherapy to postpone the inevitable. They said I may have months or maybe two years. It's a squamous cell cancer, under my chin and spreading up the nerve to my eye. The whole side of my face is numb and I'm currently in hospital with the eye sewn shut and antibiotic drops to help it heal, hopefully. I apologise for any wrong buttons pressed as I'm struggling to see with one eye and I'm not good with technology anyway. How does everyone cope with this sort of news? How do I stay strong for my family? It all feels unreal. 

• Hi  , so sorry to hear that you have had such a diagnosis, it's a tremendous shock when you get told.

I was diagnosed with an incurable bone marrow cancer in March 2015 at the age of 57 and 4 months later I was diagnosed with a spinal condition which 6 months later put me in a wheelchair, had to stop working and I was distraught. I managed to get counselling for a few months which helps, kind of. I had plans for retirement which were blown away.

For the back, there's nothing can be done, it could be worse I suppose. As for the cancer, I have treatment every week and that has been going for nearly 8 years now. It is treatable but not curable although I could get a nasty leukemia which won't be good.

AnnaMary, there are others here on this site who were given less than a year and they're still here, many years later. New treatments are being discovered and new trials emerge so I hope I've given you some crumbs of comfort for the future.

You have come to the right place for support and understanding AnnaMary, I hope you benefit and in no time you'll be hopefully giving support to others Slight smile 

Take care

Tvman x 

Love life and family.