The pleasure of eating.

• 18 replies
  • 45 subscribers

Rainie, after our conversation the other day when you reminded me about what I had said about toast. Since I have been eating porridge oats and cereals with hot milk for breakfast for a couple of months since they are easier for me to swallow, with a mug of hot water. I felt on Monday that my swallowing had improved somewhat. So yesterday morning I had a slice of multi grain toast with lashings of melted butter, washed down with a mug of strong filter coffee. Oh my goodness how delicious the toast and coffee were, it made me feel so happy and set me up for the day. I had good old porridge oats and coffee today. Such simple pleasure from simple foods and drinks. Happy days. Kind regards Frank.

• Yes indeed I fancy that, I just have to be a bit careful with my sugar intake. Having said that I had a small sticky toffee pudding and custard last night and thoroughly enjoyed it. I used to love the Heinz tinned steam puddings but I don't think you can get them now.

• Hi Frank, My husband used to like the Heinz steam puddings then when they disappeared I bought him the M&S steamed pudding, you do them in the microwave and he loves them. They do sticky toffee, raspberry jam steamed sponge and another couple. Maybe worth a look! 

Love Annette x

Yesterday is History, Tomorrow is a Mystery, Today is a Gift!!!
  • yes, like Annette says re. M&S, I used to get Tesco puddings  - 2 little ones in a pack - that my father-in-law loved. You could microwave them and he especially loved the chocolate ones with chocolate custard & ice cream on the side. Hello calories!!   Rainie x