Anger and Frustration - Help please

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 17 replies
  • 42 subscribers

Hi - I am new to the Macmaillan Community, I posted about a week ago but didn't get any responses.

I am just wondering if anybody has noticed personality changes in themselves leading to Anger and a very short temper.

I was diagnosed with breast cancer 2 years ago, it has spread behind my sternum which is inoperable, I have been told it is incurable and I will be on chemo for the rest of my life.

I used to be a very calm, quiet person - but nowadays I find myself very short tempered and angry. I don't know if this is just because of life in general or whether like the Macmillan site suggests, might be a build up from frustration at my circumstances - I assumed I wasn't being affected like that, but now I'm not sure.

• Hi

Yes your situation is crap and I am not surprised that you are angry and short tempered. My tolerance is much less than it used to be but it is not all bad. I just have a better appreciation of what is important in life and what is useless waffle and I am more confident to say no or to assert myself. You need to have an outlet for your fears and anger. I certainly know that i feel better after a good crying and wailing session. A bit scary for my husband but he just lets me sob and talk about my fears and anger at my situation. Not everyone can cope with this however and if you can't let it out with your family then perhaps you can seek out some counselling for when the covid sanctions lift. My GP's surgery are signed up to counsellors and I had a couple of phone sessions which were ok. I prefer face to face so I am going to approach my hospice when they get back to normal.