Anger and Frustration - Help please

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 17 replies
  • 42 subscribers

Hi - I am new to the Macmaillan Community, I posted about a week ago but didn't get any responses.

I am just wondering if anybody has noticed personality changes in themselves leading to Anger and a very short temper.

I was diagnosed with breast cancer 2 years ago, it has spread behind my sternum which is inoperable, I have been told it is incurable and I will be on chemo for the rest of my life.

I used to be a very calm, quiet person - but nowadays I find myself very short tempered and angry. I don't know if this is just because of life in general or whether like the Macmillan site suggests, might be a build up from frustration at my circumstances - I assumed I wasn't being affected like that, but now I'm not sure.

• FormerMember
    FormerMember in reply to FormerMember

Good morning Janet,

It sounds like you have had a horrendous experience with your hospital and treatment, I cannot imagine what you are going through and am not at all surprised you are depressed and angry.

Please do not give up your treatment ........ going back to work and being with friends will help I'm sure. Maybe your husband could use some counselling, he may be finding it hard to cope with the reality when you are so upset??

I hope your care team are paying extra attention to you moving forward to ensure you get the best possible treatment.

I hope you can travel the journey with your husband and return to being the optimistic person you were and still can be.

I am sending positive thoughts to you and I really hope you can find the answers you need. xxx

• FormerMember
    FormerMember in reply to anndanv

Good morning Annette,

Thank you for taking the time to respond to my post - I think my last one must have gone amiss somewhere. I am actually feeling a bit overwhelmed by the responses!!!